Holiday Schedule

The City of Powder Springs observes several holidays throughout the year that have an impact on trash collection. In general, if a holiday occurs on your normal collection day, it will be picked up on the next business day. If you have any questions concerning the holiday schedule, please call the Public Works Department at 770-943-8010.

Below is the holiday schedule for upcoming holidays. Please expect delays for days that we have to pick up more than 1 day's route.

There will be no yard waste collection the following weeks:
    
  • January 21 - 25, 2019
  • April 22 - 26, 2019
  • May 27 - 31, 2019
  • July 8 - 12, 2019
  • September 2 - 6, 2019
  • December 2 - 6, 2019
  • December 30, 2019 - January 3, 2020

2019

  

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, January 21, 2019

  • No Yard Waste Collection the week of January 21, 2019.
  • Yard waste collection will resume Monday, January 28, 2019.

Good Friday, April 19, 2019

  • Friday routes will be collected on Monday, April 22, 2019.
  • No Yard Waste Collection the week of April 22, 2019.
  • Yard waste collection will resume on Monday, April 29, 2019.

Memorial Day, May 27, 2019

  • No yard waste collection the week of May 27, 2019.
  • Yard waste collection will resume on Monday, June 3, 2019.

Independence Day, July 4, 2019

  • No yard waste collection the week of July 8, 2019.
  • Friday Routes should have their carts out by 7am on Monday, July 8, 2019.
  • Yard waste collection will resume on Monday, July 15, 2019.

Labor Day, September 2, 2019

  • No yard waste collection for the week of September 2, 2019.
  • Yard waste collection will resume on Monday, September 9, 2019. 

Thanksgiving Holiday, November 28-29, 2019

  • Thursday routes will be picked up Monday, December 2, 2019.
  • Once Thursday routes are completed on Monday, December 2, we will begin on Friday routes.  Friday routes may carry over into Tuesday, December 3.
  • Tuesday routes should have their carts out by 7am on Tuesday as normal. However, it may be later in the day before your cart is emptied.
  • Yard Waste collections will resume Monday, December 9, 2019.    

Christmas Holiday, December 24-25, 2019

  • Tuesday routes will be picked up Thursday, December 26, 2019.
  • Once Tuesday routes are completed on Thursday, December 26, we will begin on Wednesday routes.  Wednesday routes may carry over into Friday, December 27.
  • Thursday routes should have their carts out by 7am on Friday, December 27, 2019.
  • Friday routes should have their carts out by 7am on Monday, December 30, 2019.  
  • Yard Waste collections will resume Monday, January 13, 2020.